June 12, 2013



Australia’s Kai Hing earned the first perfect 10-point ride of the DAKINE ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in Playa Jiquiliste, Nicaragua. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

Day 4 of the DAKINE ISA World Junior Surfing Championship Presented by Billabong was an Action-Packed Day

Nicaragua delivers epic surf for Day 4 of the DAKINE ISA World Junior Surfing Championship (WJSC). The swell, as predicted by Surfline, arrived this morning with waves in the chest to head-high range with some overhead sets.

The first perfect 10-point ride of the event was awarded to Australia’s Kai Hing, who launched a huge air-360. Hing generated great speed down the line and as he approached the closed-out section, he took flight, rotated 360 degrees in the air, and landed perfectly.

The morning started with clean conditions and calm offshore winds. The tide was low and the waves were hollow. As the tide increased throughout the day, the offshore winds got stronger and the surf got even better. The surfers were getting barreled, launching huge airs and doing powerful turns.

“What an incredible day of competition! The performance level of these boys and girls is truly amazing,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “The waves were insane today. Nicaragua’s unique offshore wind delivered some of the best conditions I have seen at an ISA World Championship. As we approach the finals, the action is getting better every day. Don’t miss a second of the live webcast. We are all just very happy to be enjoying the Nicaraguan Magic.”

Day 4 of the DAKINE ISA WJSC featured Qualifying Round 3 and Repechage 2 through 4 of the world’s best Junior surfers.

Today’s best surfer in the Boys Under-18 was Andy Criere from France, who in a high-scoring match scored 15.40 defeating Hawaii’s Koa Smith (12.46), Josh Moniz (HAW, 12.27), and Felipe Suarez (ARG, 8.70). In this heat, Criere earned two individual waves of 6.5 and 8.83, awarding him the victory over his fellow contestants.

Other standouts in this division included Japan’s Naomi Kobayashi, USA’s Cam Richards, South Africa’s Benji Brand, and Hawaii’s Kain Daly, getting one step closer to the final advancing on to Qualifying Round 4.

In the Boys Under-16, with a perfect 10, Australia’s Kai Hing got the wave of the event in a nerve-wracking heat. Hing boosted with an amazing air-360 that he landed perfectly.

Even though Hing was given an interference against one of his rivals, causing his second best scoring wave to be cut by half the points, he still managed to advance in first place.

In the Girls Under-18 division, Ella Williams from New Zealand was the best of the day. After falling to the Repechage, Ella earned 15.10 points defeating Ellen Harding (GBR, 6.13), Johanny Alfonso (PAN, 5.76) and Maite de Alava (URU, 1.00).


Costa Rica’s Leilani McGonagle is charging towards the Grand Final through the Repechage Rounds. Photo: ISA/Michael Tweddle

Hawaiian Mahina Maeda had the best performance in the Girls Under-16 division. She scored 15.83 defeating Frankie Harrer (USA, 9.67), Isabella Nichols (AUS, 8.20) and Minami Koyama (JPN, 3.23).

For a full list of today’s results, click here-

The 2013 DAKINE ISA World Junior Surfing Championship resumes Thursday at 7:40am with The Morning Show hosted by Chris Ernst, and with guests from Team South Africa, Ireland, and Argentina.

Following that, the competition will feature:
Main Podium:
3 Heats Qualify 4 Boys U-18
8 Heats Repechage 4 Boys U-16
3 Heats Repechage 4 Girls U-18
3 Heats Repechage 5 Boys U-18
3 Heats Repechage 4 Girls U-16
4 Heats Qualify 4 Boys U-16
4 Heats Repechage 5 Boys U-16

The live webcast of the entire 2013 DAKINE ISA World Junior Surfing Championship is available on

Here is the scheduled for Day 5:
Thursday, 7:40am Playa Jiquiliste, Nicaragua
Thursday, 5:40am West Coast USA
Thursday, 2:40pm Western Europe
Thursday, 11:40pm Sydney, Australia

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running the Open Division World Championship since 1964, the World Junior Surfing Championship since 1980, the World Masters Surfing Championship since 2007, the World Bodyboard Championship since 2011, the Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival in China, and the World Standup Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship beginning in 2012. The ISA also sanctions the World Kneeboard Titles and the World Tandem Surfing Championship, and will launch the World Longboard Championship in 2013. ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 73 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA’s four Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Karín Sierralta (PER), Debbie Beacham (USA) and Layne Beachley (AUS).

More on